Open Accessibility Menu

What Age is Considered Elderly?

The word “elderly” may have a variety of connotations associated with it. But how old is elderly? What age is considered elderly medically? In this post, we will take a look at what is considered elderly.

What is Considered Elderly Age?

At what age is a person considered elderly? According to the World Health Organization, aging is commonly measured by chronological age. As a convention, a person over age 65 is often referred to as elderly. This is also the age when most people retire and start receiving a pension. However, the ​​age of elderly is not uniform and can be impacted by genetics, lifestyle, and overall health.

What Age is Considered Elderly for Medical Purposes?

People may ask the question, when are you considered elderly to access medical benefits? The age for elderly in this case is also 65 because that age determines eligibility for Medicare insurance in the US.

What Age is Elderly Considered in Alternative Viewpoints?

What age is considered elderly?

Traditionally, 65 is that age. We get it.

But are there alternative views on this? Are there other ways to answer the question, “what is elderly age?”

One study classified older adults into the young old (60 to 69 years), the middle old (70 to 79 years), and the very old (80 years and older). Other cultures also have their own answer to the question, how old is considered elderly? Japan classifies under 75 as “pre-old.”

We have attempted to answer the question, at what age are you considered elderly? Now, let’s review the five primary stages of aging.

Download Our Low Vision Guide

The Five Primary Stages of Aging

What age are you considered elderly? As we reviewed above, the answer to that question is complicated. There does not seem to be a one-size-fits-all approach when it comes to determining an exact age for “elderly” status. However, experts break down aging into five primary stages:

  • Independence

  • Interdependence

  • Dependency

  • Crisis management

  • End of life

Stage 1: Independence

Typically between the ages of 60 and 70, this stage is when the older adult is at their most independent. They do not need help with daily activities and can accomplish most tasks on their own.

Stage 2: Interdependence

During this stage, cognitive tasks can be more demanding and the older adult may need more help with activities for daily living, such as grooming or cooking. This typically occurs in the senior’s 70s or 80s.

Stage 3: Dependency

Most adults reach this age in their late 70s and beyond. Most aging adults develop chronic diseases such as arthritis, diabetes, dementia, and hypertension during this age range. Furthermore, they may experience mobility issues, vision and hearing impairments, and other problems that can impact their life significantly. They may need more assistance in their activities for daily living.

Stages 4 and 5: Crisis management and End of life

Older adults who reach this stage typically need almost 24-hour care and assistance. This can include assisted living facilities and hospice care. Many older adults reach this stage in their late 70s but some may enter it earlier or later.